

# **CLOVIS UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT**

1450 Hemdon Avenue · Clovis, California 93611-0599

#### SPECIAL GOVERNING BOARD MEETING

#### **MINUTES**

June 23, 2021

Professional Development Building, Boardroom 1680 David E. Cook Way, Clovis, California

5:30 P.M. - CLOSED SESSION

Additional information regarding this agenda may be viewed through the District's website at https://www.cusd.com/BoardMeetingsAgendasArchives.aspx

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance to access the Board meeting room or to otherwise participate at this meeting, including auxiliary aids or services, please contact the Superintendent's Office at 327-9100. Notification at least 48 hours prior to the meeting will enable the District to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to the Board meeting.

Public records relating to an open session agenda item of a regular meeting that are distributed within 72 hours prior to the meeting will be available for public inspection at the District Office, 1450 Herndon Avenue, Clovis, California.

An invocation may be held prior to the start of the Board meeting. Attendance during and participation in the invocation are optional and voluntary. No students, parents, members of the public, Board members, student board member, or employees are required to attend or participate in the invocation.

# A. CALL TO ORDER

Board President Steven Fogg called the special Governing Board meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

## B. ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:
Steven Fogg, M.D., President
Tiffany Stoker Madsen, Clerk
Hugh Awtrey, Member
David DeFrank, Member
Yolanda Moore, Member
Elizabeth "Betsy" Sandoval, Member

Board Members Absent:
Susan K. Hatmaker, Vice-President

<u>District Administrators Present:</u> Eimear O'Farrell, Ed.D., Superintendent Norm Anderson, Deputy Superintendent Maiya Yang, General Counsel Robyn Castillo, Ed.D., Associate Superintendent Corrine Folmer, Ed.D., Associate Superintendent Barry Jager, Associate Superintendent Michael Johnston, Associate Superintendent

#### C. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Adopted the June 23, 2021, special Governing Board meeting agenda, as submitted.

Motion: Approve, Moved By Board Member David DeFrank, Seconded by Board Member Yolanda Moore. Passed. 6-0. Board Members voting Ayes: Awtrey, DeFrank, Fogg, Moore, Sandoval, Stoker Madsen Board Members voting Absent: Hatmaker

## D. CLOSED SESSION

- 1. APPOINTMENT/EMPLOYMENT OF DEPUTY PRINCIPAL, CLOVIS EAST HIGH SCHOOL (Gov't Code §54957)
- 2. APPOINTMENT/EMPLOYMENT LEARNING DIRECTORS (2), CLOVIS EAST HIGH SCHOOL (Gov't Code §54957)
- 3. APPOINTMENT/EMPLOYMENT DIRECTOR, MULTI TIERED SYSTEMS OF SUPPORT AND INDUCTION (Gov't Code §54957)
- **4.** STUDENT DISCIPLINE AND OTHER CONFIDENTIAL STUDENT MATTERS (Education Code §48900 et seq. and §35146)
- CONFERENCE WITH LABOR NEGOTIATORS (Education Code §54957.6) Agency Negotiator – Eimear O'Farrell, Ed.D., Supt. Negotiating Parties – Contracted Emps., Cert. Mgmt., Cert. Teachers, Class. Emps., Class. Mgmt. & Ops. Unit (Represented by CSEA Clovis Chapter 250)

#### E. RECONVENE FOR PUBLIC SESSION

President Fogg reconvened the public meeting at 6:25 p.m.

# F. CLOSED SESSION MOTIONS

Approved the appointment of Mr. Darrin Holtermann, current Principal of Woods Elementary School, to the position of Director, Induction and MTSS.

Motion: Approve, Moved By Board Member Hugh Awtrey, Seconded by Board Member Yolanda Moore. Passed. 6-0. Board Members voting Ayes: Awtrey, DeFrank, Fogg, Moore, Sandoval, Stoker Madsen Board Members voting Absent: Hatmaker

Approved the appointment of Kristen Belknap, Ed.D., current Principal of Freedom Elementary School, to the open position of Reagan Educational Center Deputy Principal, effective July 1, 2021.

Motion: Approve, Moved By Board Member Hugh Awtrey, Seconded by Board Member Yolanda Moore. Passed. 6-0. Board Members voting Ayes: Awtrey, DeFrank, Fogg, Moore, Sandoval, Stoker Madsen Board Members voting Absent: Hatmaker

Approved the appointments of Andrew Manouelian, current Guidance Instructional Specialist at Reagan Educational Center, and Nicholas Trujillo current Guidance Instructional Specialist at Oraze Elementary, to the open positions of Reagan Educational Center Learning Directors, effective July 1, 2021.

Motion: Approve, Moved By Board Member Hugh Awtrey, Seconded by Board Member Yolanda Moore. Passed. 6-0. Board Members voting Ayes: Awtrey, DeFrank, Fogg, Moore, Sandoval, Stoker Madsen Board Members voting Absent: Hatmaker

Approved the Student Discipline Matters, as submitted.

Motion: Approve, Moved By Board Member Hugh Awtrey, Seconded by Board Member Yolanda Moore. Passed. 6-0. Board Members voting Ayes: Awtrey, DeFrank, Fogg, Moore, Sandoval, Stoker Madsen Board Members voting Absent: Hatmaker

## G. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

#### H. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business before the Board, President Fogg adjourned the meeting at 7:13 p.m.